Hazrat Inayat Khan (1882-1927)

Hazrat Inayat Khan

I first read about the Sufi sage in a bookstore in 1997. I sat for hours on the carpet of Borders store in the world trade center and I read chapters of his beautiful book “The Mysticism of Sound and Music” which I ended up purchasing.

Innately, Music for me has been one of those experiences that made me wonder about the beauty of the Unseen. As a child, with my intrigue for Music, I studied classical piano so over time uncovering how harmonious Sound was a combination of mathematics and aesthetic made me view Music as an intangible octave of the Creation. In turn I perceived the material Creation as the tangible phase of Music, they were one. In hindsight, all these perfect mysteries evoked by the spirituality of Music truly connected me to Islam.  Once I realized Surrender, I renounced my desire to pursue the Art of Music. hazrat-inayat-khan-with-vina It felt as though the desire itself had vanished although I still loved Music, I no longer was consumed with the thought of pursuing it, it seemed that instead I longed to pursue only its Source. Then one day, suddenly I started writing as an impulse… in doing it, I eventually found Poetry, Painting and Music again!

Hazrat Inayat Khan’s words in the book verified in me the grace of “Renunciation”, it was a great feeling to read someone else (a sage-musician at that) stating that it was really okay, even natural to let go of an activity we cherish, it actually can be a veil to the greatest Wonder.

© 2005 Aïda Touré

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Art, Spirituality, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

