Marundu’s Thousand Veils

[rockyou id=98009496]

Salaams all, I had been away for a little while as my schedule has been hectic but I hope to be able to post more frequently inshAllah.

I also completed a new oil painting entitled “Marundu’s Thousand Veils”. I wanted to do something with the “Veil” theme to celebrate head covering. I have noticed that for materialists, it is one of the main reasons they despise Islam as they claim “the veil” is a sign of oppression of Muslim women which is strange I think because head covering relates to modesty, to the value of one self’s beauty. Besides, head covering is an old tradition that has been observed for eons in many cultures and this beyond gender and religions.

Growing up in Gabon, I can’t even count the number of women I saw wearing head scarves without even being Muslim yet they observed modesty and were graceful! So I painted this piece for this reason: to honor all the modest women on all continents who beautifully wear their veils or head scarves in face of all the prejudice they encounter at the work place, in educative institutions or wherever superficial, uncultured persons can not stand another people’s refusal to be whatever alien forces want them to be… On the part of materialists, this simply is an intolerance of a divinely appointed phenomenon: diversity.

There is also an inner meaning to the “Veil” theme in this painting: the mysteries of existence are hidden from our physical eyes yet the soul is immersed in those mysteries which can become perceptible by the Will of The Divine only. When this occurs, all the concealing “veils” lift and at last, we behold the true blissful Reality… so the “Thousand Veils” here symbolizes abundance, unraveling spiritual ecstasy, “dying before death”, the continual process of false ego dissolution for the surrendered ones.

Also I must explain “Marundu”! “Marundu” is the name of a Princess in my maternal culture. I used “Marundu” in this piece’s title as an allegory for the soul as it innately is royal due to its properties, attributes and its origin.

The poem that inspired “Marundu’s Thousand Veils” can be read here and the entire painting is here… and the song on myspace.

Many blessings to all.

Copyright 2008 Aida Toure.

14 Comments

Filed under Contemporary Islamic Art, Gabon, Islam, Oil Painting, Poesie Soufie, poesie visuelle, Spiritual Art, Spirituality, Sufi Poetry, Sufism, Tasawwuf, Visual Arts

14 responses to “Marundu’s Thousand Veils

  1. haamidah

    Salaam Sister Aida,

    I think your poetry and art are beautiful.
    I love the mystical expressions in them.

    Regarding this poem,

    May Allah reward you for writing on the veil from a positive perspective.

    Unfortunately certain hostile people’s view of the veil is often determined by their inability to accept that others can truly aspire to universal and moral ideals such as modesty since they consider such aspirations futile, pretentious, or oppressive. These people remain ignorant of the fact that the veil is just one of the implements of modesty.

    Unfortunately while engaged in war with the material veil of women such people remain oblivious to the veils that cover their hearts and minds that obscure them from reality.

  2. mashallah! What you can do with oil dear sister is lovely, touching, amazing and ethereal.

    Peace,
    aisha

  3. Salaams Haamidah, welcome & thank you. You said it all: “Unfortunately while engaged in war with the material veil of women such people remain oblivious to the veils that cover their hearts and minds that obscure them from reality.”
    This is sooooo deep! 🙂

  4. Salaams Sister Aisha, welcome & thank you for your feedback.

  5. that is wonderful! I came across your site, and am very impressed by your reasoning in this art and article. Blessings to you.

  6. BismillaharRahmanirRahim

    as-salaamu ‘alaikum. I am just stopping by your blog to send my salaams. I was referred to it by the “WriteousSister”, Aaminah. I also live in New York… in Harlem. If you ever have the opportunity you should come to our dergah on 39th St. in Manhattan. Shaykh Abdul-Kerim comes from the Catskill Mountains each week to give a sohbet and make zikr with his murids and Muslims from the surrounding NYC community, we usually eat together after zikr and the Shaykh spends a few moments with those who may have private matters to discuss. InshaAllah, I may see you there.

    Allah hafiz

    -Saifuddin

  7. Walaikum Salam Brother Saifuddin, welcome & thank you for your kind invitation. If I get the chance to inshAllah I’ll pay a visit. Wasalam.

  8. Welcome Lisa & thank you.

  9. Aaminah

    Asalaamu alaikum sister,

    I read the post when you first put it up, but couldn’t see the art on my computer at home so I put off commenting. Now I can see the painting as well, and all I can say is “alhamdulAllah”. This is beautiful and deeply meaningful to me. I am always inspired by your work and this is no exception. 🙂

  10. Walaikum Salam Aaminah, thank you Sis for always being supportive, al hamdulillah il rabil alamin… this was for you too, I know what’s up …lol…

  11. Pingback: Muslimahs Speak Up! April 2008 « Aaminah Hernández

  12. Love the art and poetry.

    (I hadn’t realized that you have a blog!)

  13. Salaams Samaha & Baraka, al hamdulillah! thank you.

Leave a Reply

