Reimmersing: “Upon the Spheres’ Lips”

Upon the Spheres' Lips © 2007 Aïda Touré

Upon the Spheres’ Lips © 2007 Aïda Touré

I have pleasantly been going through pictures of paintings I worked on a few yeas ago so I was reminded of specific lessons learned while working on them.

“Upon the Spheres’ Lips” is one of those paintings I worked on meticulously, I was just learning to apply details in unique ways at a time when I discovered new nuances to my creative process which kept me awake for nights, working on the canvas, exploring new facets of my artistic voice.

“Upon the Spheres’ Lips” is about consciously drawing closer to the Divine, reveling in the unfolding proximity, a slow gentle yet intense process which is compared on this painting to the movements of the Spheres, considered the ultimate reflection of Surrender/Islam. Striving to mirror the spheres’ harmony with the Divine Law introduces the human soul to great beauty… read more here.

The original painting “Upon the Spheres’ Lips” is currently exhibited in the US ambassador’s residence in Paris. You may order prints of this piece here.

© 2014 Aïda Touré

Leave a comment

Filed under Contemporary Islamic Art, Islam, Spirituality, Sufism, Tasawwuf, Visual Arts

Leave a Reply

