I Am Ash, Spread Me!

dancebliss.jpg

None but you know that which
is exquisitely burning within,

I can see no smoke nor flame
but that innermost is lit!

A higher singeing unknown
to the common mortal

is tickling my limbs, lo!
There, some laughter in me;

all those who perceive it
always wind up crying.

I am ash, spread me!
I trust you and the place

your winds are taking me.
No longer lost in the self,

how softening that glory!
Now, I open my eyelids for

one last looking within us
and the galaxy is dancing,

O, this whirling in color
is conveying the Word;

all of humankind’s ears
wouldn’t suffice for this!

(Poem excerpt from Nocturnal Light)

© 2003 Aïda Touré

Leave a comment

Filed under Spiritual Art, Sufi Poetry, Sufism, Tasawwuf

Leave a Reply

